I Think I am a Person of Color

I don’t understand the idea of a “person of color”

Anyone who knows me will tell you I am, very much seasonally dependent, red, bright red, tan, pasty white, pink, and a variety of blends thereof.

But I am not without color.

I mean even dead people have color, it’s not a pretty, huggable, want to have it color, but it is a color.

I am not being facetious here.

To use such an imprecise descriptive phrase as some sort of a definitive demarcation of race seems petty and disingenuous.

I think it demeans the very injustices it is trying to define, and it has become its own stereotype.

It is a visual expression of multi-culturalism, it is in and of itself exclusionary.

I wish I had the perfect solution, the perfect way to differentiate those in society that have been marginalized, discriminated against from those who have not.

I do not.

I am lumped into the stereotype of being without color.

Just ask the people that know me, my skin is never without color.

But, inasmuch as I acknowledge the advantage my skin has given me, white is a color.

About Joe Broadmeadow

Joe Broadmeadow retired with the rank of Captain from the East Providence Police Department after serving for 20 years. He is the author of the novels Collision Course, Silenced Justice, and Saving the Last Dragon available on Amazon in print and Kindle. Joe is working o the latest in a series of Josh Williams and Harrison "Hawk" Bennett novels and a sequel to Saving the Last Dragon. In 2014 Joe completed a 2,185 mile thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Think I am a Person of Color

  1. Cathy says:

    There is probably a fewer number in the “those who have not” if you include things other than color to be discriminated by.

Leave a Reply

